You are here
Duo: "Remember Me for 7 Days"
This feature saves you time while keeping your information safe.
What Is It & How Does It Work?
"Remember Me for 7 Days" is like the "Remember My Computer" or "Keep Me Logged In" options you may have seen on websites.
It's a setting that gets saved in your browser's cookies. This means, that if you check the "Remember Me for 7 days" box, and use the same computer and browser, you won't have to verify your identity with Duo for 7 days. Note: if you use a different computer or browser, or clear your cache and cookies, you will need to verify your identity with Duo.
The "Remember me" feature should only be used with a device you own or that is assigned only to you. Never use the feature on public or shared devices.
Doesn't "Remember Me for 7 Days" Defeat the Purpose of Duo Security?
No. The purpose of Duo Security is make it harder for phishers and cyberthieves to access your information and accounts. If phishers have stolen your password, and you've checked the "Remember me" box, they still cannot get in to your accounts (unless they have also stolen your device).
After checking "Remember Me for 7 Days" you can only bypass the Duo authentication step on the device and browser you were using at the time you checked the box.
For details on using this feature, visit Remember Me for 7 Days.