Digital Data Process for Terminated Employees


You are here

Procedure: University of Minnesota Duluth

When an employee is leaving the University, the employee and their supervisor should review the employee's digital data on all University systems, including:

Whenever possible, the employee's data should be deleted or moved to a new owner before the employee leaves the University.

Employees may be able to retain access to some digital data and services after they leave the University, depending on the status of their University Internet/email account. For details on account status, see: Google Account End of Life Policies.

Reviewing your data

The following tables list the major types of data that an individual may have on University resources, recommendations on what to do with the data, and retention information. If you need assistance with these processes, please contact the ITSS TechCenter Help Desk (itsshelp@d.umn.edu, 218-726-8847).

Files on University computers or tablets
Type Action Retention
Personal files Delete or move to a personal flash drive or cloud storage (for example, a non-University Google account) Files left on University computers or tablets may be shared with department supervisors if needed.

ITSS recommends that the computer hard drive is securely wiped after an employee leaves and before issuing the computer to a new employee. Data is unrecoverable after this process.

Work files Move any work files that may be needed by the department to a shared department storage space (such as the N: drive)
Files in Google (Gmail, Drive, Sites)
Type Action Retention
Personal email If you are retaining your University email account, you do not need to do anything with these emails.

If you are not retaining your University email account, forward any emails you would like to keep to a personal email account. You may temporarily retain access to your University account and Gmail for up to three weeks after your termination date, depending on the nature of the termination.

You will retain access to your Google documents (Gmail, Drive, Sites) as long as your University account remains active.

If your account becomes inactive, all data is unrecoverable after 91 days.

See Google Account End of Life Policies for details.

Personal files (Google Drive) If you are retaining your University email account, you do not need to do anything with these files.

If you are not retaining your University email account, move any files you would like to keep to a personal flash drive or cloud storage (for example, a non-University Google account). You may temporarily retain access to your University account and Drive files for up to three weeks after your termination date, depending on the nature of the termination.

Personal Sites If you are retaining your University email account, you do not need to do anything with these files.

If you are not retaining your University email account, delete or move any Sites you would like to keep to a personal non-University Site (for example, a non-University Google account). You may temporarily retain access to your University account and Site for up to three weeks after your termination date, depending on the nature of the termination.

Work email Forward any work emails that may be needed to your supervisor or other designated employee.
Work files (Google Drive) Move any files that may be needed to a shared department folder on Google Drive or AD (N: drive).

Transfer ownership of all shared folders or documents in Drive to your supervisor or other designated employee:

  1. Open Google Drive
  2. In the search box, type: "owner:yourusername". This will display a list of all files owned by you.
  3. Select all documents (check the box next to "Title").
  4. Select the "More" button and then "Share".
  5. Add the new owner.
  6. Change the rights to "New Owner".
Work files (Google Sites) Transfer ownership of all work Google Sites to your supervisor or other designated employee:
  1. Open the Site
  2. Select "Sharing and Permissions"
  3. Add the new owner to the "who has Access" list.
  4. Change the rights of the new owner to "Is Owner".

Files in your personal AD folder (P: drive)
Type Action Retention
Personal files Delete or move to a personal flash drive or cloud storage (for example, a non-University Google account) Your access to all Active Directory files is terminated when you leave the University.

Files remaining in the personal folder after an employee leaves may be shared with the supervisor if needed, with approval from UMD Human Resources.

Personal folders (P: drive) are permanently deleted within six months after an employee leaves the University.

Work files Move any work files that may be needed by the department to a shared department storage space (such as the N: drive)
Files in a shared AD folder (N: drive)
Type Action Retention
All files You do not need to do anything with these files. Your access to all Active Directory files is terminated when you leave the University.

Data in shared folders is kept indefinitely.

UMD web server (www.d.umn.edu) files
Type Action Retention
Personal web site (d.umn.edu/~username) If you are retaining your University email account, move your site to Google Sites using your University account.

If you are not retaining your University email account, delete or move your web site to a personal space (for example, a non-UMD Google Site)

ITSS is in the process of eliminating all ~/user/ web sites.

Your personal Google Sites web site will remain intact as long as your University email account is active.

Personal Google Sites web sites are permanently deleted within six months after an account becomes inactive.

University web sites (d.umn.edu/dept)

If you use your personal University Internet/email account to manage a University web site, contact ITSS to transfer ownership of the site to your supervisor or other designated employee.

N/A
Samba files (MyFiles)
Type Action Retention
Personal files Delete or move to a personal flash drive or cloud storage (for example, a non-University Google account) Your MyFiles access will remain intact as long as your University email account is active.

Files in MyFiles are permanently deleted within six months after an account becomes inactive.

Work files Move any work files that may be needed by the department to a shared department storage space (such as the N: drive)
Netfiles
Type Action Retention
Personal files Delete or move to a personal flash drive or cloud storage (for example, a non-University Google account) Files in Netfiles are permanently deleted within six months after an employee leaves the University.
Work files Move any work files that may be needed by the department to a shared department storage space (such as the N: drive)